MaisonTrestler_edited.jpg

History

Jean-Joseph Trestler was born in Mannheim in 1759. In 1776, at age 17, he was hired as a mercenary serving the British Crown to fight against the American invasion. After spending seven years in the Army, Mr. Trestler was dismissed. He then worked as a street vendor in Montréal for two years.

ph_historique_edited.jpg

Around 1786, he bought a property in the Seigneurie de Vaudreuil, on the Ottawa River. As soon as he arrived, he opened a general store. Around 1791, he had a potash factory built. Lender, then involved in the fur trade, Mr. Trestler will become very wealthy and influential. He married a Quebecer, Marguerite Noël in 1785,  and from this first marriage, four daughters will be born. Unfortunately his wife died in 1793 and the two older ones died a few months later. The two survivors, Catherine and Magdeleine, will be disinherited for having married against her will to clerks from the general store, hence the legend of the ghost of Catherine, who on occasion, it is said, returns to the scene ...

In February 1794, he married in the second marriage a German, Marie-Anne Josephte Curtius, who gave him four sons.

After having built, what would become, the central part of the house in 1798, he added the part  “West” (vault and warehouse) in 1805 and the “east” part in 1806 (two bedrooms which will become the current living room). The house will therefore have had this dual function of commercial house and bourgeois residence. Mr. Trestler saw his status as a notable strengthen when he was elected deputy for York in 1808. Less fortunate in politics, he would only be a member of the Assembly for one year. Jean-Joseph Trestler died in 1813 and he was buried in the crypt of the church of St-Michel de Vaudreuil.

ete4cg.colorbox.jpg

In 1951, the house was sold to Donald Taylor, president of St-Raymond Paper. In 1969, it was designated an “Architectural Monument of National Importance” by Indian and Northern Affaires. Purchased and restored by Judith and Louis Dubuc in 1971, it was a designated “Bien culturel et monument historique” by the ministère des affaires culturelles du Québec. In 1984, the property was acquired by the Fondation de la Maison Trestler thanks to the financial support of the Macdonald Stewart Foundation and Parks Canada. The Fondation de la Maison Trestler subsequently embraced the mission of promoting the development, outreach and accessibility of La Maison Trestler.

Jean-Joseh Trestler

Born Johann Joshef Tröstler

(1759 - 1813)

Jean-Baptiste Curtius-Trestler

Son of Jean-Joseph Trestler

& Marie-Anne Josephte Curtius

(1798 - 1871)

Sir Antoine Aimé-Dorion

Husband of Iphigénie Trestler

(1818 - 1891)

Iphigenie Trestler

Daughter of Jean-Batiste Curtius-Trestler

& Wife of Antoine-Aimé Dorion

(1825 - 1855)

Two of his sons (Michel-Joseph and Hennry-Daniel) passed away before him. Nonetheless, his son, Jean-Baptiste Curtius, a physician-surgeon, became his mother's confidant following the death of his father and was appointed the administrator of the Trestler properties. The only son to marry, his five children passed on the Trestler name. A daughter, Iphigénie, married Sir Antoine-Aimé Dorion, who was the leader of the Liberal Party of Canada immediately before Wilfrid Laurier, and served as Deputy Premier for a short period of time, during which he used the house as his secondary residence. The town of Dorion, which separated from Vaudreuil in 1891 (the year of his death), bears his name.

Eulalie Dorion (one of Iphigénie’s daughters) married the Honourable Christophe-Alphonse Geoffrion (1843-1899), a famous Montréal lawyer. They lived in the central section of the home. Between 1860 and 1880 the Trestler heirs divided the land and other items they inherited in 1813. The main house was kept but it was subdivided into three sections and turned into summer homes where the Tooke, Nash and Béique families lived. In 1927, the house was purchased by securities broker, Gustave Rainville, who used it as a secondary home. Major changes were made at that time.

MaisonTrestler_edited.jpg

Historique

Jean-Joseph Trestler est né à Mannheim en 1759. En 1776, à l’âge de 17 ans, il est engagé comme mercenaire au service de la Couronne britannique pour lutter contre l’invasion américaine. Après sept ans dans l’armée, monsieur Trestler est licencié. Il devient marchand ambulant à Montréal pendant deux ans.

ph_historique_edited.jpg

Vers 1786, il achète une propriété dans la Seigneurie de Vaudreuil, sur la rivière des Outaouais. Dès son arrivée, il ouvre un magasin général. Vers 1791, il fait construire une fabrique de potasse. Prêteur, puis impliqué dans le commerce des fourrures, monsieur Trestler deviendra très fortuné et influent. Il épouse une québécoise, Marguerite Noël en 1785,  et de ce premier mariage, naîtra quatre filles. Malheureusement son épouse décèdera en 1793 et les deux aînées succomberont quelques mois plus tard. Les deux survivantes, Catherine et Magdeleine, seront déshéritées pour s’être mariées contre son gré à des commis du magasin général, d’où la légende du fantôme de Catherine, qui à l’occasion, dit-on, revient sur les lieux…

En février 1794, il épouse en second mariage une allemande, Marie-Anne Josephte Curtius, qui lui donne quatre fils.

Après avoir construit, ce qui allait devenir, la partie centrale de la maison en 1798, il ajoutera la partie  « ouest » (voûte et entrepôt) en 1805 et la partie « est » en 1806 (deux chambres qui deviendront l’actuel salon). La maison aura donc eu cette double fonction de maison de commerce et de résidence bourgeoise. Monsieur Trestler verra sa situation de notable se renforcer alors qu’il sera élu député de York en 1808. Moins chanceux en politique, il ne sera membre de l’Assemblée qu’une année. Jean-Joseph Trestler meurt en 1813 et il sera inhumé dans la crypte de l’église St-Michel de Vaudreuil.

ete4cg.colorbox.jpg

En 1951, la maison est vendue à Donald Taylor, président de St-Raymond Paper. En 1969, elle est classée ‘Monument d’architecture d’importance nationale’ par le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord. Achetée et restaurée par Judith et Louis Dubuc en 1971, elle est classée « Bien culturel et monument historique » par le ministère des affaires culturelles du Québec. En 1984, acquisition de la propriété par la Fondation de la Maison Trestler grâce au soutien financier de la Fondation Macdonald Stewart et de Parcs Canada. Par la suite, la Fondation de la Maison Trestler se donne pour mission de promouvoir le développement, le rayonnement et l’accessibilité de la Maison Trestler.

Jean-Joseh Trestler

Né Johann Joshef Tröstler

(1759 - 1813)

Jean-Baptiste Curtius-Trestler

Fils de Jean-Joseph Trestler

& Marie-Anne

Josephte Curtius

(1798 - 1871)

Sir Antoine Aimé-Dorion

Époux d'Iphigénie Trestler

(1818 - 1891)

Iphigénie Trestler

Fille de Jean-Batiste

Curtius-Trestler

& Épouse d'Antoine-Aimé Dorion

(1825 - 1855)

Deux de ses fils (Michel-Joseph et Henry-Daniel) décèdent avant lui. Cependant son fils, Jean-Baptiste Curtius deviendra médecin-chirurgien, il fut l’homme de confiance de sa mère à la suite du décès de son père. Il sera administrateur des propriétés Trestler. Seul fils marié, ce sont ses cinq enfants qui ont continué la descendance Trestler. Une fille Iphigénie, a épousé Sir Antoine-Aimé Dorion qui fut chef du parti libéral du Canada, juste avant Wilfrid Laurier, et Premier ministre pour une courte période. Il utilise donc la maison comme maison secondaire. C’est en son honneur que la ville de Dorion, séparée de Vaudreuil en 1891 (l’année où il décède) porte son nom.

Eulalie Dorion (une des filles d’Iphigénie) épouse l’honorable Christophe-Alphonse Geoffrion (1843-1899) célèbre avocat de Montréal, ils habitaient la partie centrale de la maison. Entre 1860-1880 la succession Trestler se départit des terres et des biens hérités en 1813. On conserve la maison principale mais on la subdivise en trois parties et on en fait des résidences d’été. Les familles Tooke, Nash et Béique y séjourneront. En 1927, la maison est achetée par Gustave Rainville, courtier en valeurs mobilières, il s’en servira comme maison secondaire. Des transformations importantes seront effectuées.